top of page

The Blog

I’m thinking positive.

In October of 2014, I found a lump in my breast. Despite my best efforts, my mind started racing. Since then, I’ve had several appointments with my family doctor, sat for hours in the emergency room, met some amazing women and ran a LOT of miles.

I was diagnosed with LCIS; Lobular carcinoma “in situ." LCIS is considered “Stage 0” and is generally not considered life-threatening. Although it has carcinoma in the name, it really describes a growth of abnormal but non-invasive cells forming in the lobules. LCIS, however, may indicate a woman has an increased risk of developing breast cancer.

I assure you, however, that this is not a depressing story. It’s actually very uplifting. You know how you felt after watching The Blind Side? It’s like that.

I’ve taken some creative liberties with the timeline so it would all make sense to you who are just learning about this now. I’ve also changed the names of the doctors and nurses to respect confidentiality, but really it’s because I don’t want to be sued.

This blog is meant to keep my family and friends updated throughout my journey. It’s meant to keep me sane and maybe make someone laugh.

Above all, it’s meant for someone else – someone my age – who is going through breast cancer. You are braver than you believe and stronger than you seem.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page