top of page

#Normal

I’m trying to think about what it would be like to go back to January.

And not because it’s so stinkin’ hot out I wish I could go jump in the snow, but because I’m wondering what it would be like to run those 6 marathons all over again. ‘Cause that’s kind of what I have to do now. #halfwaybitches

That’s only 253.2KM left… Sometimes I think 10 10K races in 10 months would have been easier.

So why 12? And why so much physical toll?

Because I want to feel normal.

Nothing since last October has really felt “normal.” Up until April my doctors were calling it “pre-cancer” cancer and now it’s this weird thing with an acronym for a name that I’m supposed to live with. Watch. Wait for. Flash a nurse and get squished on a bi-monthly basis for.

“How are you doing, Jennifer? I know this must be difficult. Are you doing okay. . . I know this is unexpected. How are you holding up, Jennifer? Are you okay . . . I did receive the results of your pathology, Jennifer, and I’d like to review them with you now. Is that okay?”

JESUS CHRIST, LADY! JUST GET ON WITH IT!

Don’t get me wrong, I’m very grateful for the latest diagnosis. I know others with families who are not so lucky and my heart goes out to them. #courage

Running is my life metaphor. As I run along each course, I look at the people surrounding me. There are all different types. I see people running side by side, some alone and some in groups. I’m usually very happy that we were all in this together. Everyone experiences the event in their own way and each has their own challenges and successes.

I once watched a girl who was struggling up a particularly long and steep hill. Someone came up next to her and put his hand on her back and gently “pushed” her up the hill, giving her the encouragement and strength to continue. I’ve watched others supporting and encouraging each other, and I am so glad that as we go through our lives, we don’t have to do it alone. #hillsaregross

Life can have its ups, and downs. It can have happy times and sad times. Overall, it is hard, but when we cross the finish line, it will be worth it. #DEEP


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page