top of page

Running is my medicine

I’m getting a lot of questions lately on how is it physically possible to run so many marathons in so many months without getting injured.

First of all, despite my original diagnosis, I consider myself healthy and able-bodied. Second of all, I consider myself lucky. I‘ve never even seen a physiotherapist (unless you count that time one came to my spin class and that was more awkward than anything else. Mostly due to my asking him to check me for knots…) I’m not even sure I understand what “dry needling” is and I am quite content never finding out.

I like telling people that I do yoga, but I’m a busy gal and I only make it to the studio about once a week-ish. I used to go regularly which I’m convinced got me into a pair of size 4 jeans. But, you know, it’s also good for your breathing, flexibility, mental state and something to do with metabolism.

Shout out to the peeps over at Moksha Yoga Halifax who are donating half of June’s Karma classes to Pacing in Pink! Learn more about gettin’ yer hot yoga on here.

Ok, back to running.

It’s not something I’d recommend to everyone – 12 marathons in less than a year is a lot. But you know what? Surprise! I’m LOVING it! Call me crazy, but I think that has something to do with how well my body is responding to the mileage. And the cancer.

I read a lot about people who pray and “good vibe” their illnesses away. Some people switch to vegan diets or cut out dairy or whatever. I even read a (stupid) article on how bagels can cause cancer. I’m probably never going to cut back on the things I love (like anything with butter or melted cheese) but I never thought running long distances might actually be as beneficial for me as any other homeopathic remedy.

I’m not saying running has cured me, but running is definitely my medicine. This medicine makes me feel better. It keeps me injury free and healthy.

As Chrissie Wellington (my fave badass, undefeated, tough-as-nails Ironman chick) once said, “the limits that I thought I could see in the distance dissolved as I approached them. They turned out not to be real at all, but mere assumptions.”

For me, it’s about having goals, NOT setting limits and recognizing any warning signs. I’m tackling breast cancer like I do my marathons: steady paced, experienced, and unafraid.

This post is dedicated to all runners, from fives to fulls.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page