top of page

Pacing in Pink

Frustrated (and a little pissed off) that there is SO LITTLE info out there on how a young woman is supposed to deal with breast cancer, I set out to make a change.

First of all, you need to know that I have volunteered for the Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation (CBCF) for years and think they are amazing. But the first thing you see when you visit their website is a picture of smiling women with grey hair. And why not? More than half (52%) of women diagnosed are between ages 50 and 70. For women 30 to 49 years old, the risk of being diagnosed with any type of cancer is 1 in 500 (or 0.2%). While this risk is very low, about one third of cancers diagnosed in this age group will be breast cancer.

Second of all, you need to know that I have a tendency to bite off a lot more than I can chew and it seems I’m always hungry. Pacing in Pink is more than just a fundraiser – it is a physical and mental challenge (not unlike breast cancer) that will have me running 12 marathons in 12 months. These marathons are happening all over Canada and my amazing friends have teamed up to make this journey a reality.

pinklace.jpg

Here’s the best part: I get to run in my favorite brand of New Balance shoes, donated by Luke and his amazing team at Aerobics First in Halifax. Luke, a running guru, took time to hear about my story and idea to run 12 marathons and was on board in a heartbeat, donating footwear for me to run in. I also get to run all 12 marathons wearing a PINK tutu designed especially for runners! (It’s all about raising awareness and a couple eyebrows.) My amazing friend Lisa from Tutus on the Run is not only making me a tutu to wear for every single race, she’s also donating $2 from each sale of our specially branded tutus to Pacing in Pink. If you’ve never run in a tutu before, I strongly suggest you start now.

Pacing in Pink is a journey that will hopefully help other young women like me, whether they are battling breast cancer or just the threat of it. So many times throughout this journey I have felt completely, 100% alone. I don’t want that for you.

I’m here too.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page