top of page

The Rain in Spain

Greetings from Spain!

Mark and I recently travelled with some triathlon friends of ours to Malaga, Spain, for a week-long training camp. It’s a pretty intensive camp, boasting 80-140km long rides everyday including time trials and some monster climbs and descents. There’s a lane pool for all the keeners trying to get a few laps in, and no shortage of running paths. As you can see, I took advantage of the pool and took my training quite seriously.

There were three British guys staying at the camp with us. After learning about Pacing in Pink over dinner one night, one of them shared with me that his wife had recently undergone chemo and radiation. Despite my recent good health news, it seems I could not escape breast cancer – it was waiting for me across the ocean, further proving how many people this disease affects. I thought about Stewart and his wife all week long and thought about how lucky I was to be healthy and experiencing the country and the company.

We got some good news on Thursday. Stewart, who doesn’t drink, opened a bottle of Heineken at dinner. His wife had called – her cancer was gone. The treatment had worked! We clinked our glasses and refilled the empty ones. It was a night of good celebration and bad tan lines.

Sadly, my journey was not all sunny skies. I gained another marathon, but I lost my dear, sweet Grammpy while I was away. On our final day of riding, we climbed to the top of Archidoña where there stands a small church, hundreds of years old. I went inside and lit a candle (well, three. I can't read Spanish.) I think his was more of a three-candle soul, anyway. At 95 years young, I doubt he would ever understand what I do but I think he would have loved that.

At the end of the week, we set off via high speed train to Madrid to run the city’s marathon. Contrary to popular belief, the rain in Spain does NOT fall mainly on the plain! After dry skies for over a month, Madrid was under water for most of the marathon. It poured from start to finish, which was somewhat welcome during the run. After the run, however, I had to change in a port-a-potty just to stay dry and warm. The race hosted over 15,000 people so you do the math!

It could have been worse. One time I got stuck eating soggy airplane food for dinner and a suspicious looking banana with warm Gatorade in the hotel bathroom in Vancouver before the half-marathon. (I was trying to not wake everyone else up - I don't usually eat in the bathroom).

Despite the weather, I had a blast. This marathon was probably one of the most fun runs I’ve ever participated in. I loved the route – it was like sightseeing at 10km an hour.

I dedicated my last ride to my Grammpy and the marathon to Stewart and his wife Natalie. I’ve known one my whole life and the other for 7 days but both have had profound effects on me. I will work hard to never forget either.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page