top of page

The Secret to Happiness


“The secret to happiness is letting every situation be what it is instead of what you think it should be.” – Anonymous

I’m on this giant “cut all the excess shit out of your life” spree. It works like this: I cut out all the excess shit. I think I hold on to things that aren’t important anymore and they only weigh me down. If all these marathons have taught me anything, it’s that I need to forget what’s gone, appreciate what still remains, and look forward to what’s coming next. Here we go:

Stop comparing myself to others. Especially if they’re faster or stronger or both. You can’t be disappointed by the results with the work you didn’t do. ‘Nuff said.

Drink your effing water. All of it. All the time. No excuses.

You’re not always going to find inner peace while sitting on top of a yoga mat. So skip the bloody asanas. Just grab your sneakers, put the dog on her leash and go breathe in the outdoors.

Remember your age. Do something at 32 that your 22 year old self would never do.

Accept a compliment when it comes my way. Be thankful, not diffident.

Be your best. Never stop doing your best just because someone doesn’t give you credit.

Be selective in your battles. Sometimes peace is better than being right.

Rest is okay. It’s definitely okay to take some rest.

Drop it down a decibel. I’m really loud. Like, so loud that when I’m making an effort to speak quietly, people actually ask me if I’m okay. On second thought, I don’t think this one is realistic.

Be more positive. Sometimes I forget that the people who bug me the most have shit going on in their lives, too.

Facebook less. I feel like it stresses me out more than it does me good. I kind of want to get rid of it altogether but then my cute puppy video intake would go down.

Let it go. Don’t ruin a good today thinking about a bad yesterday.

Clean more. And stop throwing the towels in with your Lulus just to save time.

Run. Don’t chase.

Be yourself. I’m a big fan of people being exactly who they are.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page